Bez kategorii

Reading in different languages – a language of passion

Hello language lovers,

Long time, no write! I am really sorry that you had to wait so long for a new post. I hope you continue your journey, just as I do. But telling the truth, it becomes more and more demanding nowadays, when we all are in such a hurry (it sometimes happen that we even read in a hurry, which is not good). Reading (and learning) should be like a flow of a little stream, a way to relax.

Today, I would like to write a little bit more about the experience of reading books in different languages. I guess, it is an interesting topic. Besides who said that we must read only in our mother tongue, right?. Reading in a foreign language may be even more inspiring and enriching experience. It is a gate to the other cultures and for those who likes to learn foreign languages it is a way to improve their skills and have some fun in the process.

Personally, I like it a lot. Though, I cannot do this in every language that I learn. In some cases it is just too challenging. And I don’t see the point in searching every other word in dictionary ;). So the languages in which I read the most are: English and Portuguese. From time to time it is also something in French. There are different kind of books, ranging from novels to scientific literature and from modern to classics. Reading in a foreign language not only helps me in looking for the information (as you all know, not all the information are available in somebody’s native language), but also experience the magic of words. Every time I do this I am but surprised with the richness of each and every language, with so many different words that can be used to describe one thing. I make of them a little collection, though not all are useful in day-to-day life. I try to put together all those pieces like in a jigsaw puzzle, to get a full image.

I admit sometimes it is not a piece of cake. Especially, with all those adjectives that some writers use with great passion (for example, Charles Dickens). It is so good to imagine things, but at the same time hard to perceive by a non-native speaker. And if you can only get the gist, you can’t feel the fullness, the writer’s craft. So from time to time it gets frustrating…. but always worth fighting for it!

What is your experience? Have you ever tried it? Why did you start? Do you enjoy it?

In which languages do you read?

Skomentuj

